Topic of research in the former department Grenzflächenphysik (physics of interfaces) was the study of interactions between molecules and interfaces by nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and optical spectroscopy. The department was established and chaired until 1994 by Professor Harry Pfeifer†. The time period 1971−1990 is described in the NMR-Labor-Tagebuch.

Professor Jörg Kärger served as chair from 1994 to March 2009. Vice-Chairs were Professor Dieter Freude from 1974 to March 2007, Professor Petrik Galvosas from April 2007 to February 2009 and Professor Frank Stallmach from March 2009 to March 2015. Dr. Christian Chmelik was and is in charge of the IR microimaging technique. The department Grenzflächenphysik was replaced in April 2015 by the department of Molecular Biophysics which is chaired by Professor Ralf Seidel. Spectroscopic studies of molecules in porous materials are continued now under the direction of Professor Jürgen Haase in the department Magnetic Resonance and under the direction of Professor Rustem Valiullin in the department Applied Magnetic Resonance.

No data is collected about visitors to this website and cookies are not used.